Since its founding in
1861, Tuskegee University in Alabama has had only seven
presidents. Thus, long terms for presidents of  Tuskegee
have been the norm. But that was not the case for Brian L.
Johnson, who was named president in 2014. The board of
trustees announced that it would not renew President
Johnson’s contract when it expires on June 30.

Published reports hinted that the trustees were not pleased
that Dr. Johnson interviewed to become chancellor of North
Carolina Central University. Also, it has been reported that
the board was not pleased with efforts to improve the
university’s financial position.

Charlotte P. Morris
was named interim president of Tuskegee University, effective
July 1. She had served in the same role in 2010. Dr. Morris
is a professor of management at the university and has been
serving as interim dean of the Andrew W. Brimmer College of
Business and Information Science.

In accepting the appointment, Professor Morris said, “I am
honored by the Board of Trustees’ request to serve Tuskegee
University as its interim president. Thanks to the dedication
and tenacity of our incredible faculty, staff, students,
alumni and friends, we will continue to build on the
‘Tuskegee Tradition.’ I am as committed as ever to advancing
our focus on students through excellence in academics,
research, service and outreach.”

Dr. Morris is a graduate of Jackson State University in
Mississippi, where she majored in business education. She
holds a master’s degree from Delta State University in
Cleveland, Mississippi, and a Ph.D. in education and business
management from Kansas State University.